top of page
Search
  • akpeterson9

The Great Week Before

As promised, this week was much like the week before with a little bit of variation. Monday and Tuesday were filled with class obligations, gym time, and studying for the MCAT. My wallet took a hit as paying for a hotel near the testing center was more expensive than the entire trip I took to Paris and Brussels. It makes me thankful that Chester is cheaper than other areas of the UK. Tuesday was fun because I was able to kick a soccer ball around with Orlando and get coffee with him afterward. Wednesday was somewhat different as my ICE class and I traveled to New Brighton, a town right near Liverpool. True to English weather, it was somewhat rainy and cold, which made the beach plans change. We walked around the area, got some fish and chips for lunch, saw a collection of old photographs of New Brighton, and walked along the coast. My roommate Hannah and I went around taking funny pictures of each other and the other international students. After our long day in the rain, our group went to a local pub and relaxed. I had a great time playing card games, such as BS and Baseball, with some of the other international students. I faired much better than the others in Baseball as no one had previously played. However, Reymond, a student from Hong Kong, was able to snag a win in his first round. Afterward, we headed home to Chester and spent the night in. Thursday was extremely relaxed. I went to the gym in the morning, went to get coffee with Larua, and worked on MCAT studying until our weekly wine night. Going to get coffee with Orlando and Laura was reassuring. I have felt a little distant from the other international students recently as I have been spending my free time studying. It reminds me of how much I prefer to spend time with people in a 1 on 1 situation. Friday was similar to Thursday as I spent most of the day working on homework and MCAT studying. One shock I did get on Wednesday night was hearing about Katie Meyer, who was a women's soccer player at Standford in her final semester. It made me think about my teammates back at Virginia Wesleyan and how fleeting life is. All these experiences abroad and the rapid changes make me feel like I am in "A Matrix" of sorts. Like life is a simulation and that circumstances can change within a second.



Picture Descriptions

Top Left: Coast of New Brighton

Top Middle: Laura, Lexi, and I at the Picture Gallery

Top Right: Tea Party in New Brighton with Brooke and Hannah

Bottom Left: Fish and Chips

Bottom Middle: Clinking Cups

Bottom Right: Street Art in New Brighton

Overall, this week has been pretty relaxed but somewhat stressful. I am quickly coming upon the MCAT, which is extremely important for my future. I have been pondering my relationships with people in the international group, back home in Virginia, and possible future relationships. I guess when people say you can find yourself in Europe, they are referring to the copious amount of free time you have to do anything and everything. If I were not studying for the MCAT, I would be free to do as I please Thursdays through Sundays as school is not much of a commitment in England. However, I always seem to remain stuck in the "Great Week Before". The week before the MCAT. The week before possible massive failure. In the moments in between, I remember Katie Meyer. Only a year older than me and dead. Life is so important and the things I worry about now are extremely fleeting. The only thing I can truly lean on is God and my relationship with Him.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page