top of page
Search
  • akpeterson9

Extreme Highs and Lows: First Week in Chester

I was extremely nervous on the flight across the Atlantic, not knowing exactly what to expect when arriving in Manchester. The first few individuals I met that were from the United Kingdom were the stewards and stewardesses, who were extremely kind and accomodating on the flight. Once I arrived in Manchester, I was quite tired and worried that all my luggage would not arrive on time. However, to my great surprise, my bags were some of the first around the carousel. I dragged my luggage to the meeting spot in the Manchester Airport and walked around a few times looking for my driver. Eventually, I stopped to rest for a few minutes. As luck would have it, my driver arrived at the airport just then and took me to his car. I was cautious about getting in the car with a stranger, without knowing where I was going, and without any cell service. When I moved to get in the car, I instinctively went to sit on the wrong side, forgetting that in England the roads and cars are opposite from the United States. We drove along the countryside on the way from Manchester to Chester. I saw more sheep than I have ever seen in my life. Driving in the UK was extremely odd as it seemed as if we were going in the wrong direction. All the landscape looked familiar- almost like it could be in rural Wisconsin- but slightly different enough to realize something was not right. My taxi driver and I arrived at the University of Chester, picked up my keys, and headed to my accommodation. The main word to describe my first half an hour in Chester was confusion. I did not understand how to get to my dorm room, which of the three keys to use on which door, and if I was on the right side of the building. When I eventually got into the building, I met my roommate from Indiana. I find it ironic and somewhat a stroke of luck to have gotten another Hannah. I have a sister named Hannah who I stay with when visiting my parents as well as a Hannah that I have lived with at Virginia Wesleyan. This Hannah continued to not disappoint. She helped me greatly with learning how to do operate the toilets/showers, how to navigate my room and general tips. Although I was extremely tired, I decided to unpack and go to the store with Hannah. The walk seemed like it took forever as I was carrying many organizing boxes for a 25-minute walk from the store to our accommodation. The next morning, the other international students and I began our introduction to the University of Chester. The entire day, I felt chaotic and confused. I was anxious that I was missing class, was not fully unpacked, getting behind in studying for the MCAT, and many other things. Despite this anxiety, after a long day on zoom, I went into town with Hannah and met up with two other girls, Brooke and Noemie. Brooke is from Colorado and Noemie is from Switzerland. We walked around Town Center in Chester for a while before stopping at a pub, where an older gentleman would not stop begging us to travel to Liverpool. The next day was similar as I had my introductory courses. I ran into a few other international students, saying a quick introduction and hello before going our separate ways. I felt a little calmer but realized the issue I continue to have: sleeping. I cannot fall asleep quickly at night, staying up to nearly 3 am. However, the highlight of the day was meeting my other international students in person. The other US students and I seemed much more extroverted than those from other countries. We spent nearly 5 hours together at a pub and watching a movie for class. Many of us were confused as we did not understand how the movie greatly related to British culture. When I arrived home, I felt like I was behind in school yet again but fell asleep. The next day, I had my class, Animal Cognition, in the morning and the International class again. I was able to catch up on reading and notes, which did wonders to ease my nerves. I walked to the grocery store and struggled to walk back; I felt like I was in the army training for long-distance with a heavy weights on my back. Instead of going to spend time with the other international students that night, I had Chinese tea with my friend Brian. He is doing his post-graduate program in Chester and we stayed up for several hours asking each other questions about China and the United States. Yet again, I spent more time there than intended but look forward to going to the store or meeting up with Brian again. There was a bit of awkwardness at our unshared culture and a slight language barrier, but I enjoyed the experience. Today, I let myself catch up on some much-needed rest, but got behind in the other things I wanted to accomplish due to this. I worked on an assignment for class and MCAT practice for half of the day, and in the other half met with two of the Korean international students, Yeji and Jihyun, at a coffee shop. I loved spending time with them. They are both very sweet and patient. Later that night, many of the other international students came to our small dormitory and spent time together. We played two rounds of spoons in which I was both pushed back and hit in the face for a spoon. Obviously, many of us are very aggressive. I laughed so hard sometimes I cried. It was very fun. Afterward, we played some online games and the other students stayed until 11:30 and left.

Picture Descriptions

Top Left: Bell Tower in Chester

Top Right: View From Accommodation

Middle Left: Church in Town Center, Chester

Middle Right: Jihyun (Right), Yeji (Center), and I getting coffee

Bottom Left: Town Center Buildings in Chester

Bottom Row Middle: Hannah (Left), Brooke (Center), and Noemie (Right)

Bottom Row Right: Shopping Center in Chester





Throughout the time I have been here, everything has been high and low. A high from spending time with other students quickly turns into a low about not being caught up in school. The high today, spending time with students, getting caught up, was accompanied by anger at me in forgetting a meeting I had with my advisor at the University of Chester. In many ways, I think that I am giving people a bad impression of myself. I don't want to be seen as bossy or dominating a conversation; it is hard to find a balance where everyone feels comfortable. I get very tired and distracted in school and feel disoriented and unorganized, although those are two things I think usually define my behavior. I wish already that I spent more time with Hannah or other international students but feel the need to stay inside and do work. I have great trouble sleeping, eating, and not feeling guilty for spending money. I miss having the support of my roommates from Virginia Wesleyan who always seemed to know what to say and it was easy and comfortable spending time with them. I know that these elements of my time in Chester will improve as I continue to spend time here and that I am experiencing culture shock. I am both extremely happy and excited while being extremely nervous and doubting myself. Ultimately, I find my time reading my Bible one of the most relaxing things I can do, but sometimes even spending time with God feels different in England. I look forward to attending more of my classes next week, joining the University's women's soccer team, and just being able to have a semblance of a routine. With the support of friends and family back home and new friends in England, I am positive I will be able to overcome some feelings of anxiety and uneasiness and focus on doing the best I can to be a good student and friend.

57 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page